~ carving.

mentally excising the parts of myself I don’t like.

sometimes I write them out on lined paper –

(blue lines, red margins)

– and ball it up and throw everything

like a basketball through a hoop into

an orange bin. wondering if

I really want to do this. can’t I just

do something that looks cooler? like making

a funk / chill / vent YouTube playlist or

learning how to draw the void hiding behind

a potpourri of abstract expressionist paintings or

being sick in a more, you know, aesthetic way?

something I can monetize or resize to accessorize:

what if I sold trauma healing earrings on Etsy?

I don’t like wasting paper. it’s probably not great for the trees.

and everybody knows you have to be great all the time;

your grief should be geared to the algorithm.

anyway, follow me on Instagram for more of my poetry.

Leave a comment